Say Goodnight to the Dishwasher

By

Here I stand in front of the sinks

The dishes piled so high

Working for wages this low really stinks

I don’t make enough to get by

I dash and dart, quickly work gets done

I kick ass at what I do

I play my part, this job’s no fun

But opportunities available are few

Trying so hard to not walk out the door

Everything about this job’s insulting

I think I’ve had enough of this chore

Contemplating quitting is exulting

I’ve had enough of the ridiculous hours

Not going home until the dawn

Tired of folks pretending I’ve got superpowers

My patience is all gone

I’m tired of plates getting stacked incorrectly

I’m tired of skipping meals

Im tired of how management don’t respect me

This whole thing’s a raw deal

I’m tired of having holes in my shoes

And wet feet all day long

I’m tired of singing the nightly blues

When there’s nothing for the bong

I’m tired of being told I’m appreciated

Yet it’s not reflected in my pay

I’m tired of being humiliated

Each and every single day

Giving two weeks notice and “doing it right” would be improper now, my friend

So say goodnight to the dishwasher

You’ll never see another like me again

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started